Delivery scam started on WhatsApp, one mistake and all the money deposited in the bank will fly away

Delivery scam started on WhatsApp, one mistake and all the money deposited in the bank will fly away

You should never click on a link that does not contain an authentic website address or looks suspicious. It is recommended to set up a security solution to avoid such threats.

Whatsapp (symbolic picture)

Ever since the corona virus epidemic has spread in the world, online scams are on the rise. Security researchers have warned users about a new delivery scam that is spreading rapidly. Scammers send messages containing malicious links through WhatsApp and notify users about their online orders. Innocent users become victims of scams and lose all their bank deposits. If you are smart enough, you will never go for such scams, but the moment you click on the link trusting them, scammers will be benefitted.

Russian security researchers at Kaspersky Lab have issued a warning about package delivery scams that are on the rise. Researchers revealed that the attackers posed as executives of online delivery companies. They then notify the person about a package that needs to be delivered to their location. However, this process is not as smooth as it appears.

The cybercriminals then ask the users to click on the link provided with the message to complete the process. They are asked to make a small payment to ensure that the product is delivered safely to their location.

Money is demanded from users for delivery

Kaspersky Lab said, “Unexpected parcels demanding payment by receiver were one of the most common scams this past quarter. The reason for invoicing ‘mail company’ can be anything from customs duty to shipment cost. While trying to pay for the service, users were taken to a fake website where they risked not only losing money (which could be more than what was written in the email) but also accessing their bank card details. been done. took the risk.”

When the user clicks on the link, he is taken to a fake website where he is asked to enter his bank details to make a small payment. This happens when the customer does not remember anything about his online order.

Special care should be taken of these things

When you buy something from Amazon or Flipkart, you know what you ordered and when the parcel will be delivered to you. This is because you have a tracker on the app and you also get notifications about the status of the products. No company will ever ask you to pay to ensure safe delivery, even if you have opted for cash on delivery mode of payment. The order will be delivered to you first and then you can make the payment or you can pay the money before using your wallet or card. No extra payment will be charged from you no matter what happens.

Researchers have asked users to be wary of such emails and to always check the source of messages that do not seem to be very reliable. You should never click on a link that does not have a proper website address or looks suspicious. It is recommended to set up a security solution to keep such threats, phishing attacks at bay.

read this also-

How do you schedule emails on Gmail? This method will work on both desktop browser and app

Twitter stops ‘blue tick’ verification process again, users may have to wait a long time

.

Default image
Damini Sharma
Experienced Senior Content Writer with a demonstrated history of working in the information technology and services industry. Skilled in SEO Copywriting, Web Content Writing, Storytelling, Blogging, and Social Media. Strong media and communication professional with a mass communication focused in Journalism from Sjmc davv indore.
Articles: 2752