Cricket is a game of uncertainties. What can happen at this moment, nothing can be said. On March 10, an ODI match was played between West Indies and Sri Lanka. The West Indies opener and wicketkeeper Sai Hope won the match by 8 wickets due to a brilliant century, but after this match, neither Hope’s century is being talked about nor the victory of the Indies. Talking here, just on obstructing the field out. If you do not know about this yet, then we tell you:
Something like this controversy started
Sri Lanka’s team came out to bat first in yesterday’s match. Danushka Gunatilaka and Dimuth Karunaratne came to the opening ground. Sri Lanka had a great start, the opening pair adding 105 runs but in the 20th over, Karunaratne was caught by Kieron Pollard for 52 runs and was dismissed. Here, as expected of Sri Lanka, Gunatilaka was vaccinated at the crease on a personal score of 55, but then something happened that is rarely seen in the history of cricket. Gunatilaka was given out for obstructing the game i.e. Obstructing the Field.
How did you get out?
Danushka Gunathilaka was given out for this 🤐pic.twitter.com/Vc6YIo6dCi
— Arjun (@ArjunNamboo) March 10, 2021
It was the first ball of the 21st over. The ball was in Pollard’s hands and Gunatilaka was at the crease. Gunatilaka played a shot off Pollard’s ball and wanted to run for a run but then the batsman Pathum Nisanska, standing at the other end, stopped him from taking a run. After this Gunatilaka started returning to his crease. Pollard ran from the other end to runout him but before Pollard could pick up the ball, the ball stopped with Gunatilaka’s leg. Pollard was unable to attempt to runout him due to the ball stopping from his leg. According to some rules of cricket it is called obstructing the game which is called obstructing the field. For this reason, Pollard appealed to Gunatilaka to be called out. The field umpire then referred the matter to the third umpire and the third umpire called Gunatilaka out.
Cricket was stirred up after Gunatilaka was dismissed as such. In this way, cricket is divided into two sides with regard to whether it is right or wrong. While some cricket giants are denying it wrong, some have praised the umpire, calling the decision correct. Former England captain Michael Vaughan, along with Tom Moody and Darren Semi have questioned the third umpire’s decision, while Australia’s Chinaman bowler Brad Hogg has praised the decision.
What are the rules
It is not that this has happened for the first time in history. In the past, batsmen have been seen to be out of whack in this way. In a match being played between India and Pakistan, the then captain of the Pakistan team Inzamul Haq was dismissed in a similar manner. The Indian team also dismissed former Australian captain Mark Waugh in a Test match in a similar manner.
There are different rules about obstructing the field out. This is stated in Rule 37 in the rules prepared by Marylebone Cricket Club.
According to Rule 37.1.1, any batsman can be given obstructing the field out after playing the ball intentionally to prevent the fielders of the opposition team from dismissing him or any other type of hindrance in his work.
According to Rule 37.1.2, if the batsman at the crease deliberately hits the ball with his hand or bat, he will be considered out, even if the ball is thrown at him, he cannot hit the bow again. It is stated in 37.1.3 that No ball would no longer matter if he was dismissed like this. The batsman will be considered out in every way. Similarly, many rules have been made about Obstructing the Field.