Facebook has been opposing this ever since Apple launched this feature and has now devised a new way to track users.
Apple’s iOS 14.5 update has made it difficult for companies like Facebook and Google. The main reason for this is its app tracking transparency feature, which the company has introduced with this new update. Through this feature, users can prevent themselves from being tracked through the third party app and can prevent them from collecting data from the iPhone. Facebook’s opposition to this update was strongly opposed by the company and the company said that due to the user being out of tracking, their target advertising could be affected and with it the revenue of small businesses could be affected.
Considering that about 4% of iOS users in the US have actually opted to be tracked by third party apps, it is safe to say that Apple users really like and appreciate this control over their data. Although it is being said that Facebook will not track users when they are out of tracking by this third party app, but in reality it can also be wrong. According to reports, Facebook can still record some data of its users. Facebook is doing this through the activities of the users and it is such a way of data collection that cannot be included in Apple’s App Tracking Transparency. However, the good thing is that you can control it yourself and stop it.
How can facebook track you
If you want to understand how this is happening, then you can understand it with this example. When you upload a photo from your iPhone to Facebook, it may contain geotags that can tell Facebook or anyone else about your location. According to a report by HotHardware, if you are tagged in a photo on Facebook and that image contains a geotag, then Facebook can automatically consider it as the location for that time. This data can be shared between Facebook and its clients and in such a case, registering for a business means giving your data to Facebook.
This is how Facebook’s tracking can stop
If you want to turn it off, first turn off geolocation in your Android and iOS device. In such a situation, if you post a photo on Facebook, there will be no geolocation tag in it. Along with this, you can also stop tagging by going in the settings of Facebook so that people will not be able to tag you without your permission. After this you will have to approve all the tags manually and people will not be able to tag you in vain. With this, you can untag them by going to your old post.
However, the thing to note here is that you cannot completely stop the exchange of this data unless you stop using the app or use VPN. If you do not use a VPN, Facebook can track your device’s IP and it can be used to know your location. Although this data tracking is not limited to Facebook, in today’s time whenever you use any online service, it tracks your data.
The dispute between Twitter and the government continues, now the head of the company said such a big thing
Google, Facebook and WhatsApp agree new social media rules, confusion on Twitter: sources