12.1 C
Sunday, January 23, 2022

In the title matches of the Test series, India has an upper hand than South Africa, South Africa is second in winning the decisive match in its country.

File Photo

-Vinay Kumar

The third and final deciding match of the 3-match Test series between India and South Africa (IND vs SA Test) has started from today at the Newlands Cricket Stadium in Cape Town. In this latest series, both the teams are currently tied at 1-1. India defeated South Africa by 113 runs in the first test match played at Centurion. After that, in the second match played in Johannesburg, South Africa defeated India by 7 wickets. Now this decisive match is being played. Whoever wins the match will win the series. By the way, records show that India’s record in the deciding matches of the Test series has been excellent.

The history of Test cricket tells that India has played the deciding matches of the Test series 33 times, winning 12 and losing 8 matches. And 13 matches were drawn. South Africa are second in terms of winning the series decider at their home ground.

India has played 18 decisive Test matches in overseas tours so far, in which India have won 6 matches, lost 6 matches and drawn 6 matches. At the same time, South Africa has played 9 decider matches of the Test series outside their country so far. Of these, he won 3, lost 3 and drew 3 matches.

When it comes to winning the deciding match in the Test series at their home ground, South Africa is second. On top is the England team. While South Africa has a win percentage of 54.55, England has won 59.09 per cent of the decider matches at their home ground. Team India is at number four in this matter. India has registered only 40 percent in the title match played at their home ground. India is also behind West Indies in this matter. However, the record of Australia and Pakistan is far worse than India.

read also

South Africa last won a Test series decider in 2014 against India at their home ground. But, in 2014 itself, Australia defeated him by 245 runs at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town. Statistics show that South Africa have played a total of 11 series title matches at their home ground and 8 of these were played at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town.

The history of Test cricket shows that the Indian team has won 5 matches out of 6 title matches played so far in the last 21 years in overseas tours. Significantly, the last time India waved the tricolor in their tour of Australia was in 2021 in the decider of the Test series against Australia. That match and victory became historic. Because, Australia had never had to face defeat in any match in the Gabba ground in almost 30 years. But, India defeated Australia (Australia vs India Test Match Gaba, 2021) and won the series. In that title move, India’s young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant (Rishabh Pant Wicket-keeper Batsman Team India) played a winning innings.

But, so far in this latest series against South Africa, Rishabh Pant’s bat has been cold. It is expected that he will show his fierce form once again in the deciding match of Cape Town.

Bhagyashree Soni
Bhagyashree Soni is a software engineer with soft writing skills. She is a degree holder from the International School of Entrepreneurial Leadership. She has been a state-level badminton champion and chess player. A woman with a forthright attitude enjoys her writing passion as her chosen career. Writing in the context of feminism, social cause and entrepreneurship is her forte.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -