15.1 C
Wednesday, January 19, 2022

UP Elections 2022: BJP has decided the names of candidates for 172 seats in UP, Chief Minister Yogi and Deputy CM will contest from here

UP Elections 2022: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday decided the names of candidates for 172 seats in view of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. According to BJP leaders, the party can field Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya in the election. Most of the 172 seats where the party has finalized the names of candidates will go to polls in the first and second phases.

The party is also considering fielding state BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh and deputy chief minister Dinesh Sharma. Talking to reporters after the meeting, Keshav Prasad Maurya said that 172 seats were discussed in the meeting of the Central Election Committee. He claimed that this time in the assembly elections, BJP will register a bigger victory than in 2017.

PM Modi also took part in the meeting

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union Minister and in-charge of Uttar Pradesh Dharmendra Pradhan, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, State President Swatantra Dev Singh and other members of the Central Election Committee attended the meeting at the party headquarters. At the same time, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari joined this meeting through digital medium.

A ‘strong weapon’ found against Omicron, AstraZeneca’s booster dose has the ability to stop Omicron

Let us inform that Nadda, Rajnath and Gadkari had been infected with Corona virus recently. For the last two days, the round of meetings is going on in the BJP. During the meetings held so far, Uttar Pradesh has been at the center of BJP’s discussions. While the party discussed the names of its candidates, it has also tried to reach out to its allies.

CM Yogi may contest from Ayodhya

Sources said that during these meetings, discussions have also taken place within the party about contesting CM Yogi Adityanath from Ayodhya seat, but the final decision has been left to the Central Election Committee (CEC) of the party. Yogi is currently a member of the Legislative Council. He has been a five-time MP from Gorakhpur. CEC finalizes the names of the candidates.

According to party sources, Adityanath can be fielded from Ayodhya and Maurya from Sirathu for the assembly elections. Whereas Dinesh Sharma can be made a candidate from any seat in the capital Lucknow.

Elections will be held in 7 phases in UP

Elections in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases and it will begin on February 10 with voting in 58 seats in 11 districts of the western part of the state. Whereas in the second phase, on February 14, voting will be held in 55 seats of the state. Polling will be held for 59 seats in the third phase, 60 seats in the fourth phase on February 23, 60 seats in the fifth phase on February 27, 57 seats in the sixth phase on March 3 and 54 seats in the seventh phase on March 7. Counting of votes will take place on March 10.


Shehnaz is a Corporate Communications Expert by profession and writer by Passion. She has experience of many years in the same. Her educational background in Mass communication has given her a broad base from which to approach many topics. She enjoys writing about Public relations, Corporate communications, travel, entrepreneurship, insurance, and finance among others.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -